Guerilla knitting at Share Conference in Belgrad, Serbia

pic by flickr user Shareconference, CC-BY-SA-http://www.flickr.com/photos/shareconference/7121914557/

pic by flickr user Shareconference, CC-BY-SA-http://www.flickr.com/photos/shareconference/7121914557/

In April 2012, I was invited as a speaker to the inspiring Share conference in Belgrad. I had a funny mix of engagements there, talking on a panel covering open government, at a press conference on ACTA (and other really bad legislation which would attack our freedom) but also giving a full talk on guerilla knitting :-). More than app 100 people listened to me presenting on what is yarnbombing, how is it done and how  it actually looks like.

I also gave a workshop on guerilla knitting and I was knitting throughout the 3 days of the conference to beautify the venue itself as well as Square Republic in the city centre of Belgrad.

Here I am, knitting like in all sessions I attended. In case you wonder – YES, I actually listened to the sessions and most of the time, I didn ‘t even need to look at my knitting. I had always a bag with wool and all else I needed close by. Very handy.

pic by flickr user Shareconference (http://www.flickr.com/photos/shareconference/7115799455/) CC-BY-SA

Inside the building, I covered  a hand rail at the stairs leading to the main hall, as well as two small tables.

Vladan, the conference organiser liked the hand rail and its flowery ending…

And these were the tables… covered in the colours of the share conference logo.

Outside, I had two more knitting projects: a traffic sign post in front of Dom Omladine, the conference venue, and a large lamp pole at central Square Republic. The traffic sign post nicely matched the rainbow colours of the share conference logo (see the poster left in the pic).

I had help from two participants of my guerrilla knitting workshop at fixing the yarn bomb at the lamp pole.

We were lucky since there was a wooden stage left from a former event, with convenient stairs, so we could easily stitch the yarn bomb around the lamp pole. Only hours later, the stage was gone and the knit hack hang too high for average vandals to be reached for damaging :-).

We had so much fun there and enjoyed the curious looks of passers-by but also the great sun shine.

Other participants seem to like the knitting a lot and there were some reports about it in Serbian and international blogs/online media.

See the Belgrad guerrilla knitting picture gallery for more pics!

Copyright notice:

All pictures (except those which have a caption stipulating otherwise) are mine with “some rights reserved” – applicable license is Attribution Non-Commercial (CC BY-NC). For reference see Wikipedia.

In short: You can use all my pics BUT on condition that the picture is attributed to me (Anna Maria Nitthaeck) and it is not used for commercial purposes. However, if you are a media organisation and want to use it, feel free, but please contact me before or after, since I would like a hard copy of printed media or a link if online published. Everybody else interested in using the pic to sell something – drop me an email and we will see.

About Nitthaeck

I am an East German textile artist, fascinated by guerilla knitting, yarn boming - always trying to beautify the urban landscape with knitting and crochet in bright colours. I love to make people smile. I love to make the environment a nicer place - at least to look at.
This entry was posted in beautifying urban landscape, Nitthaeck projects, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guerilla knitting at Share Conference in Belgrad, Serbia

  1. Pingback: Picture Gallery – Belgrad Share Conference Guerrilla Knitting Projects | randomactsofknitting

  2. Carina says:

    Great post, awesome pictures! If only I had had a wooden stage to protect the yarn bombing I crocheted in Berlin-Neukölln to beautify a street sign … (http://bit.ly/1dkjztw).

Leave a Reply

