#29C3 Yarnbombing a Hacker Conference – Picture Gallery

Every year, between Christmas and New Years Eve, the German Chaos Communications Club holds its Chaos Communications Congress. After some years in Berlin, in 2012 the 29th CCC Congress (hence the abbreviation 29C3) took place in the City of Hamburg.

29C3 website

Like last years, I took part because of the inspiring program, but like I often do at conferences, I yarnbombed the place 🙂 The feedback was great – hackers too like guerillaknitting.

However, when somebody asked me, what I was doing there, I referred to it as “knithacking”. Hacking, as I understand it (and of course there are many definitions for it), is applying techniques to environments where they are not meant to be used in that way. This can be for curiosity, innovation, for the lulz or to find solutions for complex problems. Hence hacking is not by definition something bad and surely yarnbombing is a kind of hacking: hacking the urban environment with beautiful knitting.

yarnbombed handrails in main hall - 29C3

yarnbombed handrails in main hall – 29C3

yarnbombed signpost at 29C3

yarnbombed signpost at 29C3 (this one was unfortunately stolen :-()

yarnbombed door at 29C3

yarnbombed door at 29C3

another yarnbombed door at 29C3

another yarnbombed door at 29C3

Free-Bradley yarn bomb at 29C3 - Foyer

Free-Bradley yarn bomb at 29C3 – Foyer (I might have to do a new one with Chelsea on it and Edward Snowden)

yarnbombed table at 29C3

yarnbombed table at 29C3

yarnbombed lamp at 29C3

yarnbombed lamp at 29C3

My signature at #29C3

My signature at #29C3

The next CCC conference starts in a few days – at 27th December 2013 – it will be the 30C3. I already decided to yarn bomb the place again and I also plan to do a guerilla knitting workshop during the conference to get more people engaged in yarn bombing this inspiring conference. My equipment is already packed… I hope many people join!

yarn bombing equipment - in a beauty case

yarn bombing equipment – in a beauty case

About Nitthaeck

I am an East German textile artist, fascinated by guerilla knitting, yarn boming - always trying to beautify the urban landscape with knitting and crochet in bright colours. I love to make people smile. I love to make the environment a nicer place - at least to look at.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Nitthaeck projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

