Textile Snowflakes – My “Lacetrees” in Himmelpfort

At 12th December 2013 I created my first two lacetrees and to be honest – I love the result!

with Santa Claus at Lacetree #1

Santa Claus even came along to say hello and help a bit, just figure! I got really cold hands but had some friends to help and after 2 days working at the trees, I was finished and ever since, passersby admire the result.

Doilies - ready to be sewn together

I took many doilies, most of them bought at ebay and made in various techniques (most of them crochet, some knitted, some even made in bobbin lace) and sewed them together to form a perfect fitting lace coat for two trees at one of Santa Claus hometowns – at Himmelpfort (= Door to Heaven) in Northern Brandenburg, the State surrounding the City of Berlin in Germany.

Picture gallery of my two lace trees:

wrapping the giant cloth made of more than 80 doilies around lace tree #1

wrapping the giant cloth made of more than 80 doilies around lace tree #1

Lacetree #1 total view

Detail from Lacetree #1

Detail from Lacetree #1

Detail from Lacetree #1

Detail from Lacetree #1

Detail from Lacetree #1

Detail from Lacetree #2

Detail from Lacetree #2

Lacetree #2 total view front

Lacetree #2 total view front

Lacetree #2 total view back

Lacetree #2 total view back

Lacetree #2 Detail

Lacetree #2 Detail

Lacetree #2 Detail

Lacetree #2 Detail

Lacetree #2 Detail

Lacetree #2 Detail

Local German paper reported on lace tree

Local German paper reported on lace tree

Some papers reported about my lacetrees, of course the local press but also media from Japan to Brasilia.

These are some of the reports, I found:

About Nitthaeck

I am an East German textile artist, fascinated by guerilla knitting, yarn boming - always trying to beautify the urban landscape with knitting and crochet in bright colours. I love to make people smile. I love to make the environment a nicer place - at least to look at.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Nitthaeck projects, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Textile Snowflakes – My “Lacetrees” in Himmelpfort

  1. Xan Sayers says:

    These trees are beautiful! I was doing research for a project proposal to travel this summer and your posts were very helpful to me. I love what you’re doing. I’m hoping to research how handicrafts, such as knitting, are dying out over generations as well as how younger people are bringing them new life, such as guerilla knitting. The use of a doilies was a great idea! Thank you so much for helping my research!

Leave a Reply

